G4C Yorkshire & Humber Award Winners!

The G4C Awards 2021 took place on Friday 1st October and the New Dock Hall in Leeds. We welcomed all guests with some live music and a glass of prosecco. The evening began with speeches from the Chair of G4C Yorkshire and the Humber, Lydia McGuinness, who was once again overwhelmed with the attendance and nominations for the awards. She introduced our host for the evening…Mark ‘Clemmie’ Clemmit of BBC Football.

The night had it all; from basketball games with bottles of bubbly for the winners, to a performance from a local dance group, and capped off with a fun casino.

On an occasion designed to celebrate the youth of construction, it was fitting that the room was so full of energy and excitement. It was fantastic to see so many nominees present, with the support of their colleagues and the cheer of the room when each name was called. G4C provides a platform for all the fantastic work that happens, and is proud to be able to reward the individuals who continually strive to make a positive contribution to our industry.

 Below are all the Winners and Highly Commended:


  • Trade Apprentice of the Year – Kamran Hussain – Engie Regeneration
  • Technical Apprentice of the Year –Josie Hughes – Tilbury Douglas Construction
  • Trainee of the Year – Lucy Ibbotson – Wates Construction
  • Student of The Year Higher Education – Tom Somerville – Turner and Townsend
  • Student of the Year Further Education – Katy Robinson – East Riding Council
  • New Professional of the year – Sam Higginbottom – Tilbury Douglas Construction
  • Commitment to Employee Training & Development – Wates Construction
  • Mentor of The Year Award – Ben Crossland – Turner and Townsend
  • G4C Future Leader Award – Bradley Longford – Henry Boot Construction


  • Technical Apprentice of the Year – Sam Wightman – Rider Levett Bucknall
  • Trainee of the Year – Thomas Hughes – Engie Regeneration
  • Student of the Year Further Education – Ben Tonkinson – Henry Boot Construction
  • New Professional of the year – Patrick Walsh – Turner and Townsend
  • Mentor of The Year Award – Lewis Hunt – Rider Levett Bucknall
  • G4C Future Leader Award – Ryan Gagg – Wates Construction

Thank you to everyone involved in the evening, and we will see you all next year!