Yorkshire & Humberside Awards 2020














When you think ‘Awards Night’, there is a tendency to picture black-tie suits, three course meals and stuffy event rooms. We didn’t think this was quite in keeping with the image and ambition of G4C, so this year we opted for a modern location, where we swapped three course meals for sharing platters, black-tie suits for smart suits and dresses and had an impressive singer-songwriter and magician for entertainment. This deviation was a risk and we hope it paid off, which it seemed to do as the overriding feedback for the night was “different, but we like it”. The night was made all the more successful by the plethora of nominees, and their companies, who were as enthusiastic as ever and truly celebrated what construction is about.

A big thanks to our headline sponsor East Riding Infrastructure & Facilities and all our category sponsors on the evening.

You can view the photographs for the evening here using code G4CAwards2020 to access the photos

Check out all our winners below.

Trade Apprentice of The Year 2020 – Sponsored by NPS Barnsley 

Winner – Jordan Taylor NPS Barnsley

Highly Commended – Dean Callaghan SES Engineering Services

Technical Apprentice of The Year 2020 – Sponsored by Wates 

Winner – Will Stewart – Interserve Construction

Highly Commended – Joe Threlfall – Engie & Andrew Tillotson – EN:Able Futures

Trainee of The Year 2020 – Sponsored by EN:Able Futures CIC 

Winner – Ryan Gagg – Wates

Higher Education Student of The Year 2020 – Sponsored by Mason Clark Associates 

Winner – Aimee Shann – Wates & Georgia Woloszczak – WSP

Highly Commended – Kate McKenzie – RLB

Further Education Student of The Year 2020 – Sponsored by RLB 

Winner – Joseph Briggs – Henry Boot Construction

New Professional of The Year 2020 – Sponsored by CIOB Novus 

Winner – Chris Buckley – RLB

Highly Commended – Ethan Harding – ERYC YORhub

Commitment to Employee Training & Development 2020 – Sponsored by Henry Boot Construction 

Winner – Engie Learning & Development

Highly Commended – NPS Barnsley

Mentor of The Year 2020 – Sponsored by Sheffield Hallam University 

Winner – Paul Batchelor – RLB

G4C Future Leader of The Year 2020 – Sponsored by Mason Clark Associates 

Winner – Najwa Jawahar – WSP

Highly Commended – Hannah Tweddell – WSP & Thomas Morgan – Engie